Supplementation

Have You Tried Vanadyl Sulfate?

I can remember about a decade ago that vanadyl sulfate was one of the most hyped up supplements in the fitness/bodybuilding industry. I never knew much about it nor understood the mechanisms of action, however, some of the highlighted benefits were increased vascularity, better uptake of glucose, insulin sensitizer, harder/denser muscles, and increased pumps. I really liked the concept of increased vascularity and denser muscles, this appealed to me significantly. I mean this is the look we fitness buffs are all going after, right?

One brand stuck out at the time, and was very popular, was the brand SportPharma. They made these little blue pills and they had  a peculiar smell to them, medicine smell. When I first got a hold of these, I was not sure on how to dose them, there were instructions, however it didn’t make sense because I didn’t understand how this product worked. All I remember is my first time, I took 2, which was paralleling the dosing for my bodyweight. Within 15 minutes, I got really light-headed, and very hungry and somewhat weak. This product shuttled all of the excess glucose into the cell, the sudden drop is what made me feel the way I did. A few glasses of orange juice had solved the problem. I decided to continue using it, however, to make sure I had a good amount of carbohydrates in my system. The next time I had used it, I took in about an extra 100g of carbohydrates that day, I felt fine after my dosing. I proceeded to the gym to do my workout.

Let me tell you, you could notice the effects almost as soon as you finished your first set. The muscle would be engorged with blood, and the veins would be dilated, and the pump was so intense it was difficult to do full reps after a while. This was a breakthrough for me in my weightlifting. I started to understand the importance of carbohydrates and the role of insulin, and how to maximize its use, this is imperative because carbs fuel the workout and thus stored in the muscle as glycogen so they can perform their work. The vanadyl helps shuttle them more efficiently into the muscle cell vs. the possibility of it being converted into triglycerides. Keep in mind I’m talking about someone who is dedicated to training with weights avidly, in order to get the most out of this. Of course they do give ALA, some vanadium ,chromium, cinnamon extract, etc as naturalpathic route for people with Type 2 diabetes, however, we are discussing something totally opposite of that. It’s like the use of caffeine as an ergogenic aid, vs. using caffeine as a way to start the day. Two different things. In all honesty you will not find a product as strong as the SportPharma vanadyl, unfortunately this product is discontinued by the company. You can find vanadyl sulfate easily at the Vitamin Shoppe or online and the products are relatively comparable, just not as potent.

Vanadium is a trace mineral, and is only needed in tranquil amounts, that is why you see it mostly in mcg’s (micrograms). Although rare, it can accumulate in the fat tissues, so if you are relatively lean, not much to worry about vs someone with a higher body composition, this is why people with higher body compositions are full of toxicities and have metabolic problems. It is best recommended to cycle the product if you are looking to get that extra edge and follow a physician’s recommendations.

About Nejim Sharbek

I am an expert in Fitness/Nutrition. My job is to help people achieve their goals and teach them about sound nutrition.

Discussion

One thought on “Have You Tried Vanadyl Sulfate?

  1. An impressive share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a co-worker who has been conducting a little research on this. And he in fact bought me lunch due to the fact that I discovered it for him… lol. So let me reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!! But yeah, thanks for spending the time to discuss this matter here on your site.

    Posted by Gaylord Effinger | September 3, 2012, 3:36 am

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

