Nutrition

Sweetened Almond Oil Versus Extra Virgin Olive Oil

As I’m writing this next article slash blog. I came to writing this article  fortuitously. Long story short, what had happened is that I was in the process of baking oatmeal protein cookies. I was looking for macadamia nut oil, however I was unlucky, I found sweetened almond oil which was the next best thing at the local grocery store. You might be wondering what I was doing with almond oil for baking, well, it’s actually quite popular with baking goods due to the nature it has a high boiling point. This means it can withstand heat without degrading. The problem with olive oil is that it’s the opposite, once you heat it, it turns into a bad fat. Basically making the oil as bad as hydrogenated oil. When you are looking for oil to cook with, look for the word “refined” vs cold pressed. Cold pressed is more commonly applicable for cold foods e.g. salads. Refined almond oil is modified in order for it to withstand high temperatures, which makes it suitable for using on a skillet or baking goods.

The following day, I decided to try this almond oil in my skillet to cook my chicken, I normally add extra virgin olive oil at the end of the process of the cooking, this time I began with almond oil. The reason is because I know that I can actually cook with it unlike olive oil. I put about 1.5 tablespoons, coated the whole pan, and put my vegetables and chicken in there. I noticed that there was very minimal burning or food sticking to the pan due to the integrity of the oil.

Lunch time rolls around at work and I am starving so I pull out my Tupperware and start indulging into my chicken. As I’m eating it I’m noticing that the chicken tastes actually really good this time and I could not think for the slightest reason why! All I could think is wow, this chicken is moist, tender and tastes really juicy, what did I do different? AHHHHHH, and a light turned on, I cooked the chicken in the sweetened almond oil! The night and day difference between this and olive oil is absolutely noticeable, and I recommend that anyone that has a few extra dollars to spare invest in sweetened almond oil and give it a try. Almond oil has been used for decades as a detoxifying agent, hormonal health, aphrodisiac, skin health, hair health, arterial health and much more. Almond oil is loaded in monounsaturated fats, just like olive oil. Next time you are at a whole foods store, or your local grocery store in the organic section, see if they have it and give it a try, it’s versatile and you will thank me for it. Enjoy!

About Nejim Sharbek

I am an expert in Fitness/Nutrition. My job is to help people achieve their goals and teach them about sound nutrition.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Sweetened Almond Oil Versus Extra Virgin Olive Oil

  1. Excellent post. Very helpful. Thanks for the info.

    Posted by Eric Shupps | August 13, 2012, 8:19 am
  2. I read this paragraph fully concerning the comparison of most
    recent and previous technologies, it’s awesome article.

    Posted by coconut body oil walmart | September 26, 2013, 8:10 pm

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

  • Interested in receiving free supplements for your posts? Message me here and I'll give you the details to try some of the best stuff! 3 months ago
  • It's not how much weight you lift, but the time under tension that results in more fiber recruitment=GROWTH 3 years ago
  • Bet You Have Never Had This Cut Of Steak Before! wp.me/p1VRjU-2u 4 years ago
